Try a Prompt: The Vessel

The Vessel: Write about a ship or other vehicle that can take you somewhere different from where you are now.

I found this truck sitting in a parking lot about 8 miles from where I write this. It’s a 1998 Dodge Ram and I could pay cash for it (assuming that I really, really like eating ramen and don’t mind sleeping on the couch until 2018). The truck is totally unlike the vehicles we actually own, of course, but that’s part of the appeal. We have a little car for commuting that’s seen better days, and a new (ish) minivan that we bought when our SUV died and we decided to stop fighting adulthood. Both of them meet our current needs, but come on, would you take them camping?

Trucks are great for camping because you can throw all your junk in the bed and hit the road, and if you happen to get muddy, who cares? Mud and dirt are just part of the ambiance. My current favorite camping area is around 90 miles from here, so there certainly would be plenty of time to break it in and get a little dirty.

Anyway, the color is “Light Driftwood Satin” which to me looks more like “silvery-blue ish,” gray cloth interior (leather is a dealbreaker in AZ), and it has a V-8 engine, but that’s about the extent of what I understand. I’m not a car guy, but I do know what I like. Admittedly, I’d have to make one concession and get a new radio put into it. I might be “roughing it” when I get there, but I want Bluetooth and AUX capability so I can listen to my audiobooks and podcasts. Other than that, nothing really matters.

I could go on for a while about how my ideal camping trip would work, but I’ll save that for another prompt. Suffice to say that while my choice may not be glamorous, it fits into something I’ve been missing for a while. Maybe someday I’ll discover that one of my kids loves the outdoors as much as I do, and I can make it a reality, but until then, I’ll keep looking at deals on tents and hammocks and thinking about how magical sitting by a fire under the stars can be.

 

Leave a Reply

