Try a Prompt: Outside the Window

Outside the Window: What’s the weather outside your window doing right now? If that’s not inspiring, what’s the weather like somewhere you wish you could be?

Note: I wrote this last night and didn’t have the blog set up yet. Hope you enjoy!

Spring began a week ago, and in Arizona that means we leave the remainder of our hopes for a cold day behind, and start to build our tolerance for heat up again once more. The days are longer now, and that means instead of the sky being dark by dinner time, instead the sun only just begins to set as I put my kids to bed. As a married adult with kids, I don’t associate the end of March with counting down to the end of school and the beginning of summer vacation, as my kids are homeschooled. So no vacation for me.

As the temperature creeps up into the low to mid 90’s on average, what I can look forward to is the days when our “winter visitors” finally pack up and go north for a few months. It makes the roads safer and the hospitals a whole lot less crowded. On the downside, teenagers will be everywhere, especially on the roads, so maybe things aren’t too much better.

It’s 8:40 pm, and the sky is as black as the underside of a stone in the deepest part of a coal mine. Even so, we can’t see the stars. My house is in that part of the suburbs where we’re far enough from the city not to have traffic, but still crowded enough to have too many lights to see the constellations and teach them to my daughters.

I think Arizona is one place that’s definitely defined by its weather. We have basically no seasons to speak of (not in the Valley anyway) like they do in any other part of the country; just varying degrees of how hot it is. In a way our summers, rather than being a lovely 2-3 months like in many other regions, become the endurance tests than winter can be back East.

I guess it makes buying clothes easier, which is nice. I basically wear jeans and T-shirts all year, and the only real difference in the winter is that I might throw a jacket on when it’s raining, or during the very rare period it goes below 50 degrees.  I don’t know if I’d go as far as to say that makes Arizona the best place to live, but I think I’d prefer 120 degree weather here and there instead of having to deal with shoveling snow or snow plows.

Leave a Reply

