Blogging about blogging

Restarting a blog is intimidating, and maybe even worse than starting a new one afresh. Doesn’t matter what the subject matter is, and I don’t mind admitting it. It’s easier for me to say, “I think I’m gonna start going to the gym now!” since no one really expects anything out of me then. Low expectations are SO much easier to manage, aren’t they? Unlike blogging, when on the rare occasion I have gone to the gym, expectations are kept low, with the end result being nothing significant other than me getting confused and wandering off until someone more knowledgeable takes me by the elbow and makes me get to work. Which is of course, why I still don’t go to the gym, but, at least, I’m starting to write again. Baby steps.

“What’s the big deal about blogs,” you may ask? After all, everyone has one these days, right? A blog, or a YouTube vlog, or a Periscope thingy (what are those even called, and did I really turn 31 already?), or a Tumblr… page? On top of that, we get to post anything we want to Facebook or Twitter the very instant our neurons fire off whether we should or not. The idea of putting your thoughts down isn’t restricted solely to pen and ink anymore and hasn’t been for some time. I know that. MySpace changed that, for better or worst, and it’s all moved on from there. On the bright side, I, at least, had the foresight to actually delete my MySpace account all those years ago unlike many of you, so the only thing I have to worry about is if my old high school starts putting up archived performances up on their website. No one wanted to see it live either, so I’m not too worried.

So what’s intimidating about the blog then? It’s not like writing in a paper journal, really, in the sense that my old paper journals were meant to be kept in a drawer or similar hiding place until I was old enough to be embarrassed by them. A blog (or any other mutation of the same idea), on the other hand, is meant for the whole world to see. So being a naturally competitive person, I find that maybe it’s not enough to just write down “this is what I did today” or “she said this” like I did in my old journals. Now there has to be a point, and a punchline, and spellcheck. That takes time and motivation, and of course, a schedule! I need to have the drive to maintain all three of those if the blog is to keep going past this entry as well, otherwise, eventually it might die off like the previous ones I’ve attempted.

Starting up the blog again is intimidating because like any new hobby, if it’s something you care about and want to do well at, it will take a lot of time. I used to write a lot when I was required to for school, but now I would have to set my own deadlines with no guarantee of payment. Well, other than the payment of those of you reading it, I suppose. Thanks for stopping by, incidentally. 🙂

The thing to remember though is that this is the very first entry of what will hopefully be many more to come, and now the white space has been filled. While I had hoped to talk more about my day and not to write about writing, I often find that the keyboard has a mind of its own. More will come on the next go-around.

‘Til next time!

Leave a Reply

